Life Science Compliance Update

« Previous article | Home| Next article »

December 28, 2012

CMS: 2014 Clinical Quality Measures

QA checklist
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services recently released the final 2014 clinical quality measures (CQMs) for eligible professionals and eligible hospitals, and the specifications for electronic reporting. 

Beginning in 2014, providers will need to report the new CQMs whether they are reporting in Stage 1 or Stage 2 of the Meaningful Use program.  Eligible professionals will report on nine of 64 CQMs; eligible hospitals will report on 16 of 29 hospitals.

When selecting the CQMs to report, providers must select ones that cover at least three of six domains that have been identified as U.S. Department of Health & Human Services National Quality Strategy priorities for healthcare quality improvement, according to CMS’ tip sheet.  The domains are: 

  • Patient and Family Engagement
  • Patient Safety
  • Care Coordination
  • Population and Public Health
  • Efficient Use of Healthcare Resources
  • Clinical Processes/Effectiveness 

CQMs were a core meaningful use objective in Stage 1 of the program.  They no longer are a core Meaningful Use objective, but providers are still required to submit CQMs in order to successfully participate in the program, according to CMS. 

Attestation also will change, going by the wayside. Beginning in 2014, providers beyond their first year of Meaningful Use must report CQM data electronically.  CMS also has posted the specifications for this reporting on its website. 

CMS is providing new resources to help providers with these changes, including a Data Element Catalog, a Value Set Authority Center, and a United States Health Information Knowledgebase, according to the Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT.

The final rule, published in the Federal Register on Sept. 4, contained several errors concerning the CQMs. The agency issued a document in October to correct these and other errors.   


Eligible Professionals (EPs), will continue to report from the 44 measures finalized for Stage 1 in the same schema laid out for Stage 1 3 core/alternate core  3 additional measures for EPs  

  • Eligible hospitals and CAHs will continue to report the 15 measures finalized for Stage 1
  • Beginning in 2012 and continuing in 2013, there are two reporting methods available for reporting the Stage 1 measures: Attestation (
  • eReporting Pilots: Physician Quality Reporting System EHR Incentive Program Pilot for EPs
  • eReporting Pilot for eligible hospitals and CAH  

2014 and Beyond  

EPs must report on 9 of the 64 approved CQMs Recommended core CQMs – encouraged but not required 9 CQMs for the adult population  

  • 9 CQMs for the pediatric population
  • NQF 0018 strongly encouraged since controlling blood pressure is high priority goal in many national health initiatives, including the Million Hearts campaign  

Selected CQMs must cover at least 3 of the National Quality Strategy domains (See “Measure Selection Process” below.)  

Eligible Hospitals and CAHs must report on 16 of the 29 approved CQMs Selected CQMs must cover at least 3 of the National Quality Strategy domains (See “Measure Selection Process” below.)  

Beginning in 2014, all Medicare-eligible providers beyond their first year of demonstrating meaningful use must electronically report their CQM data to CMS. (Medicaid EPs and hospitals that are eligible only for the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program will electronically report their CQM data to their state.)

« Previous article | Home| Next article »


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference CMS: 2014 Clinical Quality Measures:


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz


April 2018
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30